Request a Live Demo

Please take a minute to tell us about yourself

* All fields required

View our Privacy Policy  or  Terms and Conditions.


Thanks! We'll be in touch soon!

In the meantime, please feel free to give us a call at 800.981.5084, explore the site or check out a video.

An error occured

Please feel free to give us a call at 800.981.5084


athenahealth logo


Meaningful Use knowledge hub

Explore details of the Meaningful Use program, and get the information you need to achieve Meaningful Use at your organization.

Meaningful Use stages

The Meaningful Use program for Medicare is divided into three stages. Each stage builds on the previous one over several years, to expand electronic health records usage to an increasingly larger patient population with a wider range of health care processes. The goals and requirements of the Meaningful Use stages are as follows:

Meaningful Use Stage 1: data capture and sharing

Launched in 2011, Meaningful Use Stage 1 emphasizes proper electronic data capture and data sharing using an EHR technology. Eligible providers can attest to Stage 1 and receive their incentive payment after meeting nine core objectives and one public health objective.

Meaningful Use Stage 2: advanced clinical processes

Stage 2 Meaningful Use, which began in 2014, introduces new objectives and measures, as well as higher thresholds, requiring providers to extend EHR capabilities to a larger portion of their patient populations.

The recent changes to the Meaningful Use program have Stage 1 and 2 more closely aligned, with both requiring nine core objectives and one public health objective, for attestation.

Meaningful Use Stage 3: improved outcomes

Although details have not been finalized, Meaningful Use Stage 3 will aim to simplify the program, drive interoperability between electronic health records, and improve patient outcomes.

Based on the current timeline, providers have the option to begin Stage 3 Meaningful Use in 2017, but are not required until 2018.




Clinical quality measures (CQM)

Finally, all eligible providers must report on clinical quality measures (CQM), specifically nine out of 64 total CQMs. Providers must also select CQMs from three out of these six key health care policy domains, as recommended by the Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) National Quality Strategy:

  • Patient Engagement and Family Engagement
  • Patient Safety
  • Care Coordination
  • Population and Public Health
  • Efficient Use of Healthcare Resources
  • Clinical Processes / Effectiveness

Online Demo

Cloud-based Electronic Health Records
Whitepaper Icon
See why our cloud-based EHR was named #1 by KLAS for usability.

Meaningful Use Guarantee

See why we're #1 in MU Stage 2
attestation among health IT vendors
Whitepaper Icon