Meaningful Use

Our Best in KLAS practice management and EHR services offer a proven model for securing Meaningful Use incentives for our client practices. This is how.

of our athenaClinicals providers now use a 2014 Certified Complete EHR

of our participating providers attested
for Stage 1 in 2012

The Meaningful Use program was introduced by the U.S. government as part of the 2009 Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act, encouraging health care providers to illustrate "meaningful use" of a certified electronic health record (EHR). For doing so, eligible providers receive incentive payments, with up to $39,000 available for providers who begin in 2013.

Why? To create an infrastructure that supports health care reform, promoting greater efficiencies, a strong health information exchange, and better patient care. Farzad Mostashari, M.D., National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, said, "It's what's right for the patient, and our goal as a country to get to better health, better healthcare and lower costs."*

As part of our ongoing commitment to clients' success, athenahealth is the only service to offer eligible providers a Meaningful Use guarantee for either Stage 1 or Stage 2 incentive payments. And we help every step of the way by embedding measures right into the EHR workflow, coaching, and even attesting on your behalf.

Meaningful Use Stage 1: Getting Started... and Getting Providers Paid

Launched in 2011, the Meaningful Use stage 1 emphasizes proper data capture and data sharing. Providers who meet the 15 core quality measures of Stage 1, and who satisfy five of 10 "menu measures," can attest and receive a Medicare incentive payment.

In 2012, we led the industry in Meaningful Use attestation, with 96% of our eligible providers attesting to Stage 1. And as the only EHR service to guarantee incentive payments—now, for Stage 1 or Stage 2—our success has always been aligned with that of our clients.

Meaningful Use Stage 2: Preparing for More and Tougher Requirements

Meaningful Use stage 2, which begins in 2014, demands an even greater level of reporting in an effort to put advanced processes into place and continually evolve nationwide EHR use.

Some Stage 1 menu measures will become mandatory core measures in Stage 2, and reporting thresholds will be more demanding. To prepare our client providers well ahead of time, we will put our 2014 Meaningful Use-certified EHR into place later in 2013.

athenahealth recommends our providers begin Stage 2 reporting as soon as the program allows, starting January 1, 2014. Our new Stage 2 workflows will be in place, and our coaching and technical teams ready to go.

The reason for this is simple: By starting Stage 2—and having us attest—as soon as possible, practices can focus on a daunting mandate that will be just months away: The ICD-10 code set compliance deadline on October 1, 2014.

For more information on Meaningful Use, visit our Meaningful Use Knowledge Hub

*Health Informatics, 8.24.12,, from National eHealth Collaborative Aug. 24, 2012 webinar.

Knowledge Hub

What is Meaningful Use? What are the Meaningful Use Stage 2 objectives? Get all the details on the Meaningful Use program in our Knowledge Hub.

Meaningful Use Knowledge Hub

Read the CloudView Blog

New Year, New Stage of Meaningful Use

New Year, new Meaningful Use measures. That’s right, January 1st marked the commencement of the first Stage 2 Meaningful Use reporting period....

Stage 2 Meaningful Use: Surfing the Waves of Interoperability, Part III

Stage 2 Meaningful Use is supposed to enable the flow of health care data by breaking down barriers, mandating greater care coordination and...

Stage 2 Meaningful Use: Surfing the Waves of Interoperability, Part II

In my last post , I discussed the ways Stage 2 Meaningful Use is facilitating industry-wide clinical interoperability, and alluded to “waves”...

View Blog

athenaClinicals is ONC 2014 Edition compliant and has been certified by the Certification Commission for Health Information Technology (CCHIT®), an ONC-
ACB, in accordance with the applicable certification criteria adopted by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. This certification does not represent an endorsement by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Rocket Fuel